Backups are part of our overall philosophy of high availability (HA) and ease of disaster recovery (DR). All apps in all accounts are backed up daily.
Accounts are entitled to restores requests four times per year. Additionally, Users on the Business and Enterprise plans have access to Solution Versioning which allows them to:
- Restore the schema of Solutions (apps and pipelines)
- Use the feature independently
- Create up to 30 versions of a solution
- Restore any version at any time
Note: Versioning does not restore data.
We back up every application daily. The encrypted backup files are stored within our data centers. We do not use a third party to maintain backup files.
Local backup for applications is done as a snapshot every 24 hours, and we keep the most recent 14 daily snapshots. In addition to the daily snapshots, we keep the most recent 6 months’ worth of weekly snapshots past the 14 days’ worth of daily snapshots.
Note: for an application to be recoverable from backup, it must not have been:
- Created and deleted within the same day
- Transferred from a different realm in the last 10 minutes
Should any user on your account accidentally delete data, an application, or a table, you would need to request a restore if you want to retrieve that data. The turnaround time for a restore is typically 1–2 business days but can be longer in some cases, depending on how far back you need us to go. Keep in mind that the farther back you wish to restore data, the less likely we are to have a backup that will restore the exact data you need.
Types of restores
We offer 5 types of restores:
Deleted application restores an application that has been deleted.
Application overwrite overwrites an entire application to how it appeared given a specific restore date. This means any changes (schema/data) entered to the app after the restore date would be lost once the restore is complete.
Table overwrite overwrites an entire table to how it appeared given a specific restore date. This means any changes (schema/data) entered to the table after the restore date would be lost once the restore is complete.
Table CSV provides a CSV of the data for a particular table leaving the live app untouched. Note, that this is for table data only, and does not include file attachments or any schema information.
Restore to Copy provides a copy of the entire application, leaving the live app untouched. *Note, Restore to Copy restores do not copy over users and roles and also does not retain file attachments.
Note: Upon transferring an app to a different realm, if a restore (restore deleted, restore to copy or overwrite) is done to a date prior to the transfer, the app (or its copy) will be moved back to the old realm.
To request a restore
Note: For security reasons, to fulfill a restore of any type, the request must come from the email address of a Full-Management Account Admin. Users within the app, even if they are the App manager/owner, or in an App admin role, will be directed to work with their account admin team. See Admin capabilities for more information.
Contact Quickbase Technical Support and tell us that you need a restore. You will be asked to provide:
The exact date the data was deleted
Whether you need to restore file attachments (only available for overwrite restores)
The DBID of the application
What type of restore you want
Maintaining your own backups
Many customers choose to back up their data on a regular basis rather than pay for a restore. If you decide to maintain backups on your own there are several features that will help with this process.
Use the More > Save as a spreadsheet command to save a report into CSV format. This exports the data only, not file attachments. Check that the report you choose uses the original field names as column headers.
Make a copy of your application.
Purchase the Quickbase ODBC driver from QuNect (a Quickbase partner). This tool can be used to sync data between Quickbase and other applications such as Microsoft Access, SQL Server, or Crystal Reports. See http://www.qunect.com/ for details.
Disaster recovery overview
Please visit our Security and Compliance page for information about disaster recovery.
What is not included in a restore
These items are not included in a restore:
Apps or tables (data and schema) that were created and deleted in the same day
Features that are in Beta
- Pipelines (unless you use Solution Versioning)