The Quickbase form builder lets you see what your form will look like to end users as you design it. However, some form functionality is easier to test in preview mode. Switch to preview mode to see how your form will function for end users when they edit, view, and add records.
Turn on form preview mode
To switch to preview mode, click Preview in the page bar.
In preview mode:
- Form builder editing is turned off. This allows you to use the form as an end user.
- You will still be able to make changes to your form name and form settings
- You can find preview options in the preview mode menu
- The preview mode menu is collapsible, so you can see the full view of your form
Search and select records in preview mode
To choose a record in your table to view and edit in preview mode:
- Find a record in the preview mode menu by searching in the Preview record field or by selecting a record from the list.
- Use Previous and Next to step through all the records in your table to find the record you want.
Changes made to records in preview mode are not saved, so you can test the fields and enter values without changing any data in your app. You can also test form rules in preview mode, the rules will execute as they would for users with your role permissions.
Form preview modes
Edit preview mode
Preview how your end users will edit records in your table in edit mode.
Choose a record in the Preview record field or leave the form blank, and select Edit as your Preview mode.
Edit available fields in edit mode without making changes to data in your app. All field values are reset to the last saved values in the table when you switch out of edit preview mode.
View preview mode
Preview what end users will see when they view records in your app.
Choose a record to view or view your blank form. Select View as your Preview mode.
You can not make changes to field values in view mode. Use Previous, Next to step through all the records in a table.
Add preview mode
Preview how end users will add new records using your form.
Select Add as your Preview mode, and you will see a blank form.
You can enter values into your form’s fields. Records created in add preview mode will not be saved to your table.
Turn off form preview mode
Switch out of preview mode and back to your form builder canvas by selecting Preview in the page bar again. Changes made in preview mode are not saved. You will not be able to recover changes made in preview mode by turning preview mode back on.